Oriental Orthodox

From MXnet
Jump to: navigation, search
Wikiepedia, "Oriental Orthodoxy"
Oriental Orthodoxy is the faith of those Eastern Christian churches which recognize only the first three ecumenical councils—the First Council of Nicaea, the First Council of Constantinople and the First Council of Ephesus. They rejected the dogmatic definitions of the Council of Chalcedon held in AD 451 in Chalcedon. Hence, these Oriental Orthodox churches are also called Old Oriental churches, Miaphysite churches, or the Non-Chalcedonian churches, known to Western Christianity and much of Eastern Orthodoxy as Monophysite churches (although the Oriental Orthodox themselves reject this description as inaccurate, having rejected the teachings of both Nestorius and Eutyches).[1] These churches are in full communion with each other but not with the Eastern Orthodox churches.
The Oriental Orthodox communion comprises six churches:
  • Coptic Orthodox,
  • Ethiopian Orthodox,
  • Eritrean Orthodox,
  • Syriac Orthodox,
  • Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church (Indian Orthodox Church)
  • and Armenian Apostolic churches.