Jump to: navigation, search

The Person and Work of the Holy Spirit

1,167 bytes added, 08:34, 8 September 2014
Seven Gifts (Old Testament; traditional)
; [ Catechism #1831]
:"The seven ''gifts'' of the Holy Spirit are wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord. They belong in their fullness to Christ, Son of David [ (cf. Isa 11:1-3).] They complete and perfect the virtues of those who receive them. They make the faithful docile in readily obeying divine inspirations. "
; Observation on the Hebrew
: The Hebrew has three couplets, followed by a summary epithet:
:: "A spirit of wisdom and of understanding"
:: "A spirit of counsel and of strength"
:: "A spirit of knowledge and of fear of the Lord"
:: "And his delight shall be the fear of the Lord"
: The Greek and Latin translation, which are the authoritative versions for Catholics, translates "fear of the Lord" as piety in the first instance and "fear of the Lord" in the second, thus making it possible to count seven separate gifts. Seven is clearly a more symbolic number than six--or, rather, the symbolism of seven, perhaps, is more appealing than the symbolism of six. In meditating on the gifts, the Hebrew pairing may be helpful.
:: Wisdom produces understanding.
:: Counsel provides strength.
:: Knowledge of the Lord produces fear of the Lord.
:: Fear of the Lord is a delight, not a burden.
: These relationships between the gifts are hidden by the catechism list, but not denied. I will try, for my own consolation, to remember the original text: wisdom and understanding, counsel and strength, knowledge and fear of the Lord, delight in the fear of the Lord.
{| {{Prettytable}}

Navigation menu